WPF Performance and Tuning

3 thoughts on “WPF Performance and Tuning

  1. I have a rather large Wpf app with about 300 users. I started to receive calls that some of my users were have performance issues when typing in a text box. I created a simple application that reproduces the problem. I have verified that computer that are having the issue are Graphic Tier 2 machines. My sample application highlights the issue. If you use performance monitor and type in one of the red text boxes quickly about 15 characters you will see frame rate drop to 1 but DisableDropShadow or AllowsTransparency = false and no performance issue.

    This is a .net 3.5 Sp1 application so drop shadow should be hardware rendered and the performance tools show that there are no software renders happening. I reproduce the propblem on my machine which is as follows

    Windows XP x86 Sp3
    2.5 Gb of Ram
    AMD x64 2.2Ghz
    NVidia GeForce 7600 GS 512mb

    On my MacBook Pro There is a slight 5% increase in CPU but never higher then 25%

    Windows XP x86 Sp3
    4 GB of Ram
    Intel Core 2 Duo 2.4
    Geforce 9600 Gt 256mb

    My sample app can be downloaded here

    http://www.familyorganizer.com/beta/sampleapp.zip

Leave a Reply

