TypeScript IntelliSense

We are going to use TypeScript in our product, so imagine my disappointment when I realized that IntelliSense is not working for TypeScript files in Visual Studio 2012, despite it should.

I have tried everything I could – played with VS settings, uninstalled and reinstalled TypeScript, ReSharper, whole Visual Studio… Nothing. Finally, I had to reset my Windows and start from scratch. After two full days completely wasted trying to get IntelliSense working, I finally got to the magic point of having fresh Windows, Visual Studio, and TypeScript. Started it all up, and bang – no IntelliSense again! After pulling some hair out, and crying quietly in the corner, I started second round of uninstalling and installing TypeScript, including older version 0.8.2, Web Essentials, resetting VS settings, etc. Same result. Finally I checked my Visual Studio plugins, and, to my surprise, spotted MySQL Tools for Visual Studio extension, despite I did not want to install it in the first place when MySQL was installed earlier. Removed this plugin, and voila, TypeScript IntelliSense at its best!

What is strange, I have tried to install MySQL server and its Connector/.NET at home (although a newer version 5.6.10.1 package), and surely got the unwelcome MySQL Tools for Visual Studio extension with them. But! The TypeScript IntelliSense works nevertheless, despite a completely different picture was observed at work twice. Go figure.

So, if TypeScript’s IntelliSense is not working, I would recommend to remove all extensions, starting from those more exotic (e.g. MySQL, and those less used by wide population) – it might actually repair the thing.

6 thoughts on “TypeScript IntelliSense

  1. you are awesome! thanks for the help.

    but one can only uninstall the plugin via uninstalling the mysql connectors?

  2. Well, I am not sure now (cannot try), but it is not that big problem after all – you can reinstall connector (preferably a newer version) after uninstalling it, and all things will likely work well after that.

  3. WOOHOO thank you soo much
    this was indeed the problem
    finally intellisense for typescript, this is gonna be awesome

  4. Thank you!! Without resharper, everything works fine, but as I am dependent on the refactor features of resharper, I cannot uninstall it. However, after removing the mysql-tools from visual studio, visual studio’s intellisense works even with resharper being installed!

Leave a Reply

